Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Trident maple problem...need help

+3
AlainK
kenduncan
Joel
7 posters

Go down

Trident maple problem...need help Empty Trident maple problem...need help

Post  Joel Sun Jul 12, 2009 5:23 pm

I purchased a trident maple a couple months ago. It's 15 yrs old and well established.... healthy... I hope. This brings me to my problem. I left for vacation for a week. Left my girlfriends daughter to water it daily while I was gone. I got back and every leaf was dried out and a light brown to slightly green color. She swore she watered it everyday but I'm thinkin not enough. I defoliated the entire tree just behind each leaf where it meets the stem of the leaf. I've been watering it for the last two weeks and keeping it shaded. Was this the right thing to do? I need help. So if anyone has any suggestions I really appreciate it. I'm very new at bonsai. I've read as much as I can. But in some cases its hard to remember everything. PLEASE HELP!!!!

Thanks,

Joel

Joel

Back to top Go down

Trident maple problem...need help Empty Re: Trident maple problem...need help

Post  kenduncan Sun Jul 12, 2009 6:35 pm

Joel,
Once the leaves are trashed it is best to remove them by pruning and leave a stub at the base of each leaf.
With not as many leaves on the tree it will not take up as much water so be careful not to over water,
Good luck with your Trident.
Ken

kenduncan

Back to top Go down

Post  Joel Sun Jul 12, 2009 7:44 pm

So cutting the entire leaf off and leaving just the stem from the leaf was the wrong thing to do? I was always confused about that. I hope this won't cause too many problems. Seeing I already defoliated the entire tree.

Joel

Back to top Go down

Post  AlainK Sun Jul 12, 2009 9:43 pm

Joel wrote:So cutting the entire leaf off and leaving just the stem from the leaf was the wrong thing to do?