Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Sean Smith workshop

3 posters

Go down

Sean Smith workshop Empty Sean Smith workshop

Post  Gentleman G. Sun May 15, 2011 6:49 am

I was fortunate enough to be able to attend a Ficus Retusa Workshop headed by Sean Smith this weekend. The material was really nice, easy to style. We started by defoliating, then Sean came around to each individual and asked what we saw. He then proceeded to illustrate what he saw and gave us the illustration as a guide. I gained a new understanding of what goes into creating these masterpieces, as well as a greater appreciation of Bonsai and Suiseki. This weekend, our club hosted the 2011 Lone Star Bonsai Federation's convention "Gateway to Bonsai" and I've almost learned too much to take it all in. This is my first year practicing Bonsai, and to help with the convention has been an honor and an incredible learning experience. I met Sean before the workshop and watched his critique of the exhibit (which included some of my teacher's trees) and also viewed his workshop on daiza carving. It wasn't till I got home and did a bit of reading on Sean that I realized how much recognition he's attained. Never once did he make me or any of the other attendees feel "stupid", nor did he give the impression that he was above any of us. Had I read up on him before hand, I may have been kinda nervous... He's a great teacher and if you ever have a chance I highly suggest you attend anything he's a part of, you'll learn a lot. Sorry to ramble, I just want to encourage other beginners to join a club and experience all the bonsai community has to offer. I'm used to dealing with rappers so egos kinda come with the territory, didn't see any big egos at this weekend. I'm one of the youngest, if not the youngest members of our club and yet I fit right in with all the geezers Very Happy maybe it's my old soul??? Anyway, here's the tree...