Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Mame info

5 posters

Go down

Mame  info Empty Mame info

Post  MikeG Wed Aug 08, 2012 12:44 am

Hi all

I'm still very new to bonsai and have been learning a lot through the fantastic group here at IBC.
I've come to the realization that shohin and mame are what I should be focusing on right now in my current situation. I live on the 17th floor of an apartment building and have very limited space. I've been totally preoccupied with my fascination of large specimens. I have several shohin and a couple large trees (all in development, and none ready to call bonsai). I also started many seedlings that are mostly in their second year. When I planted them I envisioned 3+ inch trunks but I now see how stupid I was. With nowhere to plant in ground or even keep large containers, it's a no go. So I want to train them as mame.
So if anyone can turn me onto any good sites or books specifically about the differences and challenges about training mame, I would greatly appreciate it.
One point I'd really like clarification on is life expectancy. I read that it is greatly shortened by the size. But considering that a couple of my shohins are 25+ yrs of age and growing vigorously, what is shortened?

Thanks in advance, Mike
MikeG
MikeG

Back to top Go down

Mame  info Empty Re: Mame info

Post  0soyoung Wed Aug 08, 2012 1:14 am

Morten Albek is close to the center of the mame universe and he's written a book about it. Scour this forum and others and don't forget 'the Google'. IMHO, mame is very challenging.

Good luck
0soyoung
0soyoung

Back to top Go down

Post  marcus watts Wed Aug 08, 2012 6:13 am

hi,