Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Laboratory Ficus

5 posters

Go down

Laboratory Ficus Empty Laboratory Ficus

Post  Tom Simonyi Mon Aug 06, 2012 7:58 pm

I have been a scientist for most of my life, working alone in laboratories, most of which have been windowless. My current lab. is no exception. The first picture shows a little "ficus" my daughter bought me at a local craft store sometime ago...low maintenance, but also no growth :-) Believe it or not some of my co-workers have asked me how old it is and how I have managed to keep it alive.

I decided to opt for a live tree...a burtt-davyi... from what I have read and learned from others (Jerry Meislik in particular) the species prefers to be on the dry side. I chose a deeper container to allow for when I am out of the lab. for extended periods. It seems to be acclimating well....new buds have begun to pop.

I am nearing retirement, and figure for the last few years working alone, I can now have a living companion that I can really get along with and enjoy.

TomLaboratory Ficus Lab_fi10
Tom Simonyi
Tom Simonyi

Back to top Go down

Laboratory Ficus Empty Re: Laboratory Ficus

Post  Tom Simonyi Mon Aug 06, 2012 8:00 pm

The burtt-davyi... the light cycles on for 18 hours and off for 6.
TomLaboratory Ficus Labora10
Tom Simonyi
Tom Simonyi

Back to top Go down

Post  Billy M. Rhodes Mon Aug 06, 2012 9:25 pm

Tom

The light looks strong and the timing might be OK, but I think would opt for 12 and 12.

One issue I see is that all the light is from above, could you set up reflectors/mirrors to get light to the sides?
Billy M. Rhodes
Billy M. Rhodes

Back to top Go down

Laboratory Ficus Empty Laboratory ficus

Post  moyogijohn Tue Aug 07, 2012 1:55 am