Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Received 2 olive trees from Greece. Some general advice please

3 posters

Go down

Received 2 olive trees from Greece. Some general advice please Empty Received 2 olive trees from Greece. Some general advice please

Post  avz10 Tue Jun 07, 2011 11:41 pm

A friend just brought these two small olive trees from Greece as a gift (Greek name "Korone i ko". I have no experience with bonsai, but thought that this might be a nice way to start.)

I am starting to read up about the hobby, but need some extra advice:
1. We are in different hemispheres, and winter is starting here.I live in Johannesburg, average temperature could be zero at night, going up to max 20 degrees during the day.
2. Just basic advice on some pruning- he cut some roots off the bigger one.

I attach a photo of the plants in two pots. They are currently in an area with a window in the ceiling. If there is son through the window, should I put them in the sun?

Temperatures during winter will vary between 5 and 20 degrees Celsius. I suppose I just leave them inside till spring?

(They are going to have a long winter, starting in Greece, but by mid August it gets warmer)

Any advice or reference to more reading material? (I am not sure if the Greek name "Korone i ko is similar to the European olive that one reads about)

Thanks for any info

avz10

Back to top Go down

Received 2 olive trees from Greece. Some general advice please Empty Re: Received 2 olive trees from Greece. Some general advice please

Post  Billy M. Rhodes Wed Jun 08, 2011 2:32 pm

We/I didn't get the photos. I can't be of help with the olives because they don't like Florida. Try the BCI website. However, unless the temperature is close to 0 C I would put the plants outside.
Billy M. Rhodes
Billy M. Rhodes

Back to top Go down