Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Bonsai Beginner

5 posters

Go down

Bonsai Beginner Empty Bonsai Beginner

Post  Madcat1776 Tue Jun 20, 2017 4:01 pm

Hello Community~
I am very new to Bonsai and wanted to share the photos of the trees that I am beginning with.  I have a Chinese Elm, a Jade, a Buttonwood, a Boxwood, and a Ginseng Ficus.  I have repotted all except the Jade and the Boxwood so far.  At this point I believe that I should just fertilize them and let them grow for at least a month... what do you all think?  I have attached a photo of these trees:
Bonsai Beginner 20170612

Thank you,
Madcat1776

Madcat1776

Back to top Go down

Bonsai Beginner Empty Re: Bonsai Beginner

Post  augustine Tue Jun 20, 2017 4:18 pm

Welcome.

I don't know about your climate but here in 7A we repot tropicals in the summer so you may be able to repot the jade.

However boxwood is repotted in late winter/early spring when it starts to come out of dormancy. (Is that December/Jan in Florida?)

It's best not to fool with your plants too much esp. when you get into the hobby

Best,

augustine

Back to top Go down

Post  bilbo Tue Jun 20, 2017 4:38 pm

Welcome to Bonsai, the more the merrier!

Nice selections.
From whence did these trees come?
How long have to had them?

When I first started (6 months ago), I did the same thing as you, and promptly proceeded to kill a few trees from doing too much too soon.

Although there are some similarities, each of these varieties carries some significant care and handling differences and there is a TON of resources for each.

For the 3 you repotted, were they complete soil replacements?
If so, I'd keep them in the shade and use an organic root stimulator for at least the next month.

The other two, I'd suggest leaving them in their current pots until at least next spring to allow them to get accustomed to you, and you to them.