Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Bonsai for a Beginner

+7
Randy_Davis
Mitch Thomas
bonsaisr
BrianG
bonsaidude978
Russell Coker
tahoepat
11 posters

Go down

Bonsai for a Beginner Empty Bonsai for a Beginner

Post  tahoepat Fri Jun 10, 2011 12:25 am

I just bought a Juniperus Squamata (blue star juniper) to learn with and start a bonsai. Knowing I am a complete novice with Bonsai's, what is absolutely the very 1st thing I should do to get started? The juniper is growing nicely in a gallon pot and still in the dirt. I have a bonsai dish. What's next?
Thanks for any help.
tahoepat

tahoepat

Back to top Go down

Bonsai for a Beginner Empty Re: Bonsai for a Beginner

Post  Russell Coker Fri Jun 10, 2011 12:37 am

tahoepat wrote: What's next?

1 - Welcome!

2 - Read books, surf the internet and this site, and join a local club so someone can give you some real "hands on" advice and guidance.

R
Russell Coker
Russell Coker

Back to top Go down

Post  bonsaidude978 Fri Jun 10, 2011 12:50 am

Hello fellow novice.

I started a little over a year ago and I still feel like there is so much to be learned. There are a lot of great books. Here are a few that I have that have helped me immensly:

The Bonsai Handbook
-David Prescott

The Living Art of Bonsai
-Amy Ling

Bonsai Survival Guide
-Colin Lewis

If you can get your hands on Bonsai Techniques 1 by John Naka, I've heard its the bible of bonsai.

Good luck, I would love to see some pics of the juniper!

bonsaidude978

Back to top Go down

Post  BrianG Fri Jun 10, 2011 2:04 am

I highly recommend John Naka Bonsai Techniques 1 and 2 ... these will start you off in the right direction and like the others said Join a local Bonsai Club .. good luck and enjoy your new found addiction! cheers cheers
BrianG
BrianG

Back to top Go down

Bonsai for a Beginner Empty Bonsai for a Beginner (Please correct spelling)