Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Should anything be removed?

3 posters

Go down

Should anything be removed? Empty Should anything be removed?

Post  PeacefulAres Mon Apr 02, 2012 10:44 pm

In my other posts I've stated that I'm new to bonsai, but I'm pretty new to growing trees in general. I've always grown plants, and been pretty successful when it comes to gardening, but trees are different it seems. I'm not really sure what to do with them. Anyway, I've posted about this tree more than once, and again I could use a little bit of advice. It might be my impatience that is causing me to view the tree this way, which is why I am asking.

As you can see from this picture, it has been growing quite a bit. The only thing I'm concerned about, is that there are dozens of shoots which are crowded closely together.
Should anything be removed? Img_0110

Here is an up close picture of some of the shoots.
Should anything be removed? Img_0111

I've read that this kind of situation can cause the shaded branches to die, because they don't receive enough sun. Also, I'm not sure if having so many shoots growing at the same time slow down the process of growth and thicken. At the moment, it doesn't seem like it, but I don't have much experience. Basically, what I'm asking is will it be better to simply allow all of these shoots to grow on their own, or remove some of them?
PeacefulAres
PeacefulAres

Back to top Go down

Should anything be removed? Empty Re: Should anything be removed?

Post  Mitch Thomas Mon Apr 02, 2012 10:57 pm

What specie is this tree? Did you check to see how much of the base has a live cambien ? Just from what I can see is you have to thin out some of the sprouts that are connected. If this is the future apex all of the shoots in one area will cause a unpleasant taper and branch placement.

One more question is how long has it been collected?

Mitch

Mitch Thomas