Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Indoor bonsai room temperature, watering and general care

4 posters

Go down

Indoor bonsai room temperature, watering and general care  Empty Indoor bonsai room temperature, watering and general care

Post  GRANDPA DAN Thu Jan 20, 2011 4:01 pm

I am new to bonsai having received a bonsai of the month present for my retirement in September 2010. They are delivered every other month by Fedex from FTD.COM. I have a gensing ficus (ficus macrocarpa) and a money tree (pachira aquatica) and their leaves are turning yellow and falling off. I am having trouble understanding the watering especially during the heating season in upstate New York - it is currently 68 F degrees - is this too cold ? Humidity level too low at 30% ? I just received my third bonsai - a ponytail palm (beaucarnea) and it was frozen solid - can it survive this freezing ? Any help would be appreciated as the plants arrived with very little care instructions from FTD.

GRANDPA DAN

Back to top Go down

Indoor bonsai room temperature, watering and general care  Empty Re: Indoor bonsai room temperature, watering and general care

Post  JimLewis Thu Jan 20, 2011 6:23 pm

GRANDPA DAN wrote:I am new to bonsai having received a bonsai of the month present for my retirement in September 2010. They are delivered every other month by Fedex from FTD.COM.

Boy! Someone really disliked you -- a lot! Just kidding.

Did they even ASK if you wanted a bonsai delivered every other month?

I have a gensing ficus (ficus macrocarpa) and a money tree (pachira aquatica) and their leaves are turning yellow and falling off.

Well, cheer up. Few of us would even consider either of these to be a "bonsai." They're houseplants Maybe the club will do better by you in the months to come.