Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Chop/Cut/Top Amur Japanese Maple (Acer ginnala)

2 posters

Go down

Chop/Cut/Top Amur Japanese Maple (Acer ginnala)  Empty Chop/Cut/Top Amur Japanese Maple (Acer ginnala)

Post  gax Wed Oct 20, 2010 6:41 pm

I have an Amur Maple that I've been holding onto for a few years. It has been growing fine lately, so I think that it's probably time for it's first styling soon. (I've been taking my time because it has a great shape and I want it to be established.)

My question has to do with "topping." This tree is a multi-trunk with a unique shape, but some of the main branches were a little long, almost leggy on one of them. If I could bring grown further in on the lower branches, that would be great. Can I "top" or just cut it back and expect budding around that site in the spring? Will it backbud along the entire branch? I've just been caring for it and am not so sure how best to cause budding further back on the branches. I find multiple articles that are contradictory about the best time to make such a cut.

Thanks for your help!

gax

Back to top Go down

Chop/Cut/Top Amur Japanese Maple (Acer ginnala)  Empty Re: Chop/Cut/Top Amur Japanese Maple (Acer ginnala)

Post  DreadyKGB Thu Oct 21, 2010 5:25 am

Gax,