Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Moss Mystery

+3
Billy M. Rhodes
Ume
Gaylene
7 posters

Go down

Moss Mystery Empty Moss Mystery

Post  Gaylene Wed Sep 22, 2010 3:54 am

I am relatively new to the art of Bonsai and have recently been given an incredible collection of trees. That being said, unlike my trees, these came complete with beautiful moss coverings. I have been doing some extensive reading about Bonsai and have discovered through that process that the moss needs to be removed in preparation for the winter dormant season. If that is true, is that for the health of the tree or to preserve the moss for the following spring/summer? If it needs to be removed how does one go about it without causing damage to the tree?
None of the trees in my small collection had a moss covering.
I am eager to learn and would be very appreciate of any help you might care to render up!
Gaylene
Gaylene
Gaylene

Back to top Go down

Moss Mystery Empty Re: Moss Mystery

Post  Ume Wed Sep 22, 2010 4:03 am

Welcome Gaylene Smile

Funny I never read that in any of my books....nor have I ever removed the moss from any of my bonsai for the winter. I would love to hear what everyone else has to say.

Peace
Ume flutter eyelashes
Ume
Ume

Back to top Go down

Post  Guest Wed Sep 22, 2010 4:22 am