Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

homemade soil question

+10
Oliver Muscio
bucknbonsai
coh
drgonzo
Gary Swiech
Billy M. Rhodes
JimLewis
Ricky Keaton
Kev Bailey
Mitch - Cedarbog
14 posters

Page 1 of 3 1, 2, 3  Next

Go down

homemade soil question Empty homemade soil question

Post  Mitch - Cedarbog Fri Jul 02, 2010 2:51 am

Hey everyone. this is my first post.
I have done bonsai since 2003 and since that time i have used brussels soil, worked FINE, but EXPENSIVE!! this spring i decided to make my own soil.
It consists of 3mm-7mm: 2parts--sieved pine bark
2 parts riversand, pebble like stuff cleaned 3mm-7mm
1 part peat moss.
Does this sound viable to you. Its has been hit and miss for me... most pots drain well and retain well, but others are absolute swamp like... they dont drain unless you count going over the sides as draining. I am studying them and have tried everything except total repot which will damage the tree in mid summer. CAN ANYONE SHED LIGHT ON THIS PROBLEM. modify my soil mix if that what you recommend. thanks
Mitch - Cedarbog
Mitch - Cedarbog

Back to top Go down

homemade soil question Empty Re: homemade soil question

Post  Kev Bailey Fri Jul 02, 2010 8:27 am

Sounds to me like there may be a bit too much organic (peat moss) in the mix. That is fine for some trees like Wisteria, Alder, Willow, Taxodium etc that like "wet feet" but can be too slow draining for pines and many others. If it becomes a problem, water only when needed and adjust the mix next spring when repotting.
Kev Bailey
Kev Bailey
Admin

Back to top Go down

Post  Ricky Keaton Fri Jul 02, 2010 1:40 pm

seems to me the best answer i have heard on soil is experience. start with what u know and work off that! u'l get it down to a science my friend...
Ricky Keaton
Ricky Keaton

Back to top Go down

Post  JimLewis Fri Jul 02, 2010 2:07 pm