Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Bonsai Soil Question

+2
Dave Leppo
Kris
6 posters

Go down

Bonsai Soil Question Empty Bonsai Soil Question

Post  Kris Mon Apr 11, 2016 11:21 pm

Hello,

I started my first bonsai over the weekend. It's a juniperous procumbens nana. My question is about the soil and watering. I purchased Hoffmans Bonsai Mix from a local nursery and it just seems to be almost pure gravel mix with very little soil or organic mixture in it. When I water, it just seems to run right through and it's bone dry by the next day. Maybe this is normal, but as a newb, I'm not sure. Any thoughts or suggestions would be appreciated!

Kris

Back to top Go down

Bonsai Soil Question Empty Re: Bonsai Soil Question

Post  Dave Leppo Mon Apr 11, 2016 11:46 pm

Basic soil info

more advanced theory

I encourage you to surf around the BONSAI4ME site; lots of good info.

Dave Leppo

Back to top Go down

Post  dick benbow Tue Apr 12, 2016 3:49 am

Soil is a topic that gets lots of play but bottom line it helps to find a local mentor. Over the years with yamadori bonsai, I have learned the value of pummice for both drainage and water retention. From the japanese, most use 2/3rds ingrediences for pines with drainage and a third organic, while deciduous is more 50/50 organic and drainage. But as most things in life, you have to find somthing that works for you and the reason why a good mentor can save you time and money.
dick benbow
dick benbow

Back to top Go down

Post  Kevin S - Wisco Bonsai Tue Apr 12, 2016 12:27 pm