Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Hi Im Smokeyjoe - Soil question

+4
MikeG
John Quinn
Billy M. Rhodes
smokeyjoe
8 posters

Go down

Hi Im Smokeyjoe - Soil question Empty Hi Im Smokeyjoe - Soil question

Post  smokeyjoe Mon Oct 29, 2012 10:43 pm

new member to this form and wanted to say Hi and glad to be apart of the world of Bonsai,This is my first year and may ask some dumb questions, so please be patient,I have done about 15 trees so far and wanting to buy more expensive ones,my first question is a simple formula for soil,I purchased "Dry Stall" and Akadama I was wondering what else would be good for soil down here in Ga.
Thanks Smokey
smokeyjoe
smokeyjoe

Back to top Go down

Hi Im Smokeyjoe - Soil question Empty Re: Hi Im Smokeyjoe - Soil question

Post  Billy M. Rhodes Tue Oct 30, 2012 12:07 am

We use 1/3 Turface, 1/3 Fafard Soil Condtioner, 1/3 Lava or pea gravel
Billy M. Rhodes
Billy M. Rhodes

Back to top Go down

Post  John Quinn Tue Oct 30, 2012 12:38 am

Welcome to IBC! Go to the home page and use the Google site search and you will find MANY existing soil threads...
John Quinn
John Quinn

Back to top Go down

Post  MikeG Tue Oct 30, 2012 12:52 am

Welcome Smokeyjoe. I think you'll soon notice that there are probably as many different soil recipes as there are enthusiasts. I would advise contacting experienced people in your area and ask what works best for them.
MikeG
MikeG

Back to top Go down

Post  smokeyjoe Tue Oct 30, 2012 1:34 am

thanks everyone
smokeyjoe
smokeyjoe

Back to top Go down

Post  JimLewis Tue Oct 30, 2012 11:46 am

All you need for your mix (probably) is some kind of organic material to mix in with it. I tried Dry Stall, and while it worked, I was put off a bit by its WHITEness.
JimLewis
JimLewis

Back to top Go down

Post  Leo Schordje Tue Oct 30, 2012 3:28 pm