Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

indoor Hemlock Bonsai

+3
RKatzin
JimLewis
shy
7 posters

Go down

indoor Hemlock Bonsai Empty indoor Hemlock Bonsai

Post  shy Wed Apr 07, 2010 1:59 pm

I'm new at the hobby and would like to practice a little...I've just read that Hemlock reacts very well to Bonsai techniques and it just happens that my yard is full of them!

I live on the Eastern Coast of Canada and of course these trees have no problems with our Canadian winters. My question would be will they do well indoors year round? Would you have websites to suggest that would have information on acclimating a tree from the wild to indoors? How big or small should the specimen be to have the best chance at success?

I'm not sure of what the rules and regulations are for shipping trees across countries but if anyone is looking for some I can certainly try to help hehe!

I hope I'm not offending any serious hobbyists by talking Bonsai with non native trees...please let me know on the hobby ethics and the do (s) and don't (s). Embarassed

Carole

shy

Back to top Go down

indoor Hemlock Bonsai Empty Re: indoor Hemlock Bonsai

Post  JimLewis Wed Apr 07, 2010 2:33 pm

I have very limited experience with Hemlocks, but it is extremely unlikely they would survive more than a few weeks if kept indoors. Generally, the only trees that will live in the very hostile (to plants) indoor environment are tropical or semi-tropical species, with an occasional warm-temperate species (Chinese elm, etc.) thrown in. Hemlock are cold weather species, and meet none of the criteria for indoor living.

It is growing increasingly difficult to ship plants from country to country. I guess the EU has made it easier in Europe, but shipping across the ocean would be tough, and the US has very strict regs. Hemlock is fairly common in the northern states, however -- if the adelgid doesn't kill them all in the east.