Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Bonsai Newbie

+5
Jay Gaydosh
JimLewis
bonsaistud
Storm
kmw07
9 posters

Go down

Bonsai Newbie Empty Bonsai Newbie

Post  kmw07 Wed Feb 17, 2010 2:23 pm

Hello everyone!

I'm brand new to bonsai via an unexpected birthday gift. I recieved 2 different trees. One is a blue star juniper and the other a zelcova. I was given these with little instructions for their care so any tips for beginners would be appreciated. Also, I've been reading some conflicting information about growing these strictly indoors. Is it possible or do they need to be outdoors? I live in Omaha and it's VERY cold right now. If they have to be outdoors, when would be the best time to move them out there? Can they really survive the harsh winds and snow here? Especially the juniper which is teeny?

Thanks in advance for any help you can give!

Bonsai Newbie 02120012
Bonsai Newbie 02170011

kmw07

Back to top Go down

Bonsai Newbie Empty Re: Bonsai Newbie

Post  Storm Wed Feb 17, 2010 2:46 pm

Well, im new to this, so Ill just offer my 2 cents here.
I dont like what they are planted in.. Atleast not tree number 2. You should remove the stones from the top, can you tell us what kind of soil there is beneath them? So far I prefer to have my trees in a well drained soil, actually just using 100% catsand atm. If you do that, be sure its the brand that isnt clumping or smells. I bought a kind from Coop.
Wait a little while and watch them carefully if the tips get brown or anything. If they dont like it the way you have them atm I would repot it.
I guess the Zelcova would do ok untill it gets a little warmer.
In what way have they been untill now? Did the juniper stand outside somewhere or in a greenhouse etc. If it has been standing warm for a long time, putting it outside where its cold wouldnt be good to it.