Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Ficus retusa hard pruning

3 posters

Go down

Ficus retusa hard pruning Empty Ficus retusa hard pruning

Post  ivillaCanada Sat Feb 25, 2017 3:17 am

Hi:
I live in Brantford, Ontario, Canada about 1 hour drive south of Toronto. I have been training this ficus retusa for the last 8 years. Since I live in Canada, from around October to end of April I keep the ficus indoors in a small sunroom and from May to end of September outdoors in plain sunlight. I really like its nebari and trunk. I think that the branches are good too, but are becoming too long. I try to keep it pruned not to let it go too much, but I would like to shorten them. I have the following questions:

+ Normally when I prune below the leaves, the branch dies. I was wondering if I prune all the branches at the same time and not leave any leaves, if it will bud out.
+ If this is the case, when would be the best time to do this hard pruning and how far back would you recommend me to go.
+ Should I fertilize heavily before pruning it hard?

Thanks in advance for your help.Ficus retusa hard pruning Tiger_11
Ficus retusa hard pruning Tiger_12
ivillaCanada
ivillaCanada

Back to top Go down

Ficus retusa hard pruning Empty Re: Ficus retusa hard pruning

Post  Khaimraj Seepersad Sat Feb 25, 2017 12:24 pm

When temperatures are above 75 - 70 deg.F [ day or night ] and you have fertilised for a month try trimming a branch back to
before the last leaf. You should see some growth from the applied fertiliser.

Observe what happens.

Additionally, you should test your theories on expendable cuttings. So when you cut anything off, please use them
as cuttings.

Always experiment on the cuttings not the mother.

Remember Ficus likes sun.
Good Luck.
Come back and let us know how it goes.
Laters.
Khaimraj
Khaimraj Seepersad
Khaimraj Seepersad

Back to top Go down