Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Accidentally split the trunk! Help!

+4
arihato
Precarious
Vance Wood
liam.longbottom
8 posters

Go down

Accidentally split the trunk! Help! Empty Accidentally split the trunk! Help!

Post  liam.longbottom Wed Jan 07, 2015 9:48 pm

Hi there, I'm relatively new to the work of Bonsai. Loving every minute of it though!

Whilst trimming back and bending my juniper shrub I have managed to spit the trunk down the middle. About 2cm straight between two medium sized branches (ill put up a photo when i get a chance). I was wandering what the best way of repairing this might be? I was thinking Kiyonal sealant and some florist tape should do the trick? Any suggestions?

Thanks.

liam.longbottom

Back to top Go down

Accidentally split the trunk! Help! Empty Re: Accidentally split the trunk! Help!

Post  Vance Wood Wed Jan 07, 2015 10:15 pm

liam.longbottom wrote:Hi there, I'm relatively new to the work of Bonsai. Loving every minute of it though!

Whilst trimming back and bending my juniper shrub I have managed to spit the trunk down the middle. About 2cm straight between two medium sized branches (ill put up a photo when i get a chance). I was wandering what the best way of repairing this might be? I was thinking Kiyonal sealant and some florist tape should do the trick? Any suggestions?

Thanks.

I'm not certain if you are talking about a verticle split or a horizontal split. Crazy glue for wood will work really well if we are talking about a verticle split but if you split across you are in deep doo-doo.
Vance Wood
Vance Wood

Back to top Go down

Accidentally split the trunk! Help! Empty Re: Accidentally split the trunk! Help!

Post  liam.longbottom Wed Jan 07, 2015 10:24 pm

It's a vertical split. In the middle of a "V" shape of two branches and down the trunk..

liam.longbottom

Back to top Go down

Post  Precarious Wed Jan 07, 2015 10:34 pm