Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Large Field Maple in its 1st pot

+3
RKatzin
chris
Richard S
7 posters

Go down

Large Field Maple in its 1st pot Empty Large Field Maple in its 1st pot

Post  Richard S Sat Mar 08, 2014 11:33 pm

Hi folks

I'm still fairly new to bonsai and as a result I have a lot of trees that are in plant pots /training pots etc. Most aren't very "bonsai" looking to be honest. However, things are starting to progress a bit and this spring I'm transferring a few into their first proper ceramic pots. This Field Maple (Acer Campestre) is a good example.

Obviously the tree is still very raw and needs a lot of work. The lower branches need strengthening and upper branches need to back bud so I can cut back some of the excessively thick sections but I do feel it's heading in the direction I want. It improved a lot in the last growing season too so I'm hoping for good growth this season again.

A few years of Walter Pall style "hedge cutting" should help increase the ramification. In the mean time it should look ok once in leaf.

If I can get the back branches and the lowest right hand branch to grow vigorously enough I might remove the very straight branch/secondary trunk as well but that a consideration for the future really.

for now I guess it's just let it grow, cut it back, let it grow, cut it back etc, etc.

Anyway, hope you like it (constructive criticism very welcome as always).

Regards

Richard

Large Field Maple in its 1st pot Fieldmaple2014
Richard S
Richard S

Back to top Go down

Large Field Maple in its 1st pot Empty Re: Large Field Maple in its 1st pot

Post  chris Mon Mar 10, 2014 8:25 pm

Hi Richard
I like the upright form that you are aiming at, good trunk as well
Just a few things jumping out at me, why is the tree offset in the pot rather than in the centre and there are a few catapult branches

Regards Chris
chris
chris

Back to top Go down