Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Ulmus Parvifolia

+7
GerhardGerber
Floris
arihato
Richard S
JimLewis
mumra
quatrefi
11 posters

Go down

Ulmus Parvifolia Empty Ulmus Parvifolia

Post  quatrefi Wed Jan 29, 2014 12:47 pm

Here's an Ulmus Parvifolia (chinese elm in english?) that i've been working on for four years.
First picture in 2009.
Second and first pictures last autumn, and last ones after a new shaping.

Ulmus Parvifolia Orme_a10

Ulmus Parvifolia Orme_f10

Ulmus Parvifolia Orme_f11

quatrefi

Back to top Go down

Ulmus Parvifolia Empty Re: Ulmus Parvifolia

Post  quatrefi Wed Jan 29, 2014 12:51 pm

The front would be the first of these last picture (that's how i worked it) but i'm still hesitating a little bit...
Thanks for your comments!

Ulmus Parvifolia Orme10

Ulmus Parvifolia Orme110

Ulmus Parvifolia Orme210

Ulmus Parvifolia Orme310

Ulmus Parvifolia Orme410

quatrefi

Back to top Go down

Post  mumra Wed Jan 29, 2014 1:22 pm

That looks like a good size trunk you have there and I like where it is going. For me... I like the more natural deciduous tree look for branches, on deciduous trees, rather than the downward sweep that you see on pine trees. With this in mind I would have the branches going initially up, then down and then up again at the ends where the new growth is. I also think I prefer the last picture for a front but I expect it looks very different when actually in front of you than when seen in a picture.

This is just my opinion though and I do like the look of this material. It certainly has a lot of prospects.
mumra
mumra

Back to top Go down

Post  JimLewis Wed Jan 29, 2014 2:17 pm

Well done. Size?
JimLewis
JimLewis

Back to top Go down

Post  Richard S Wed Jan 29, 2014 5:10 pm

Wow, great piece of material there. Shaping up nicely.