Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Complete beginner

+5
JimLewis
fiona
leatherback
Sabi
JemC
9 posters

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

Go down

Complete beginner Empty Complete beginner

Post  JemC Sat Mar 23, 2013 3:49 am

First off i would like to say hi to everyone Very Happy
Hope i am posting in right place....story is i was given a grow your own Bonsai kit as a present, why i dont know as i was not really green fingered but hey ho thats life..anyway i thought i would give it a go can't be hard...right Rolling Eyes anyway i planted the seeds in Feb 13 which by the way i have no idea what they are as it just said mixed seeds on the packet.
Well to my surprise they have started growing and i have started reading a lot...about Bonsai so i suppose my question is...what should i do with them now Exclamation i have hopefully attached a picture of them...any hints or advice would be most welcome....Oh and thanks in advance.
Jem

Complete beginner Bonsai12

JemC

Back to top Go down

Complete beginner Empty Re: Complete beginner

Post  Sabi Sat Mar 23, 2013 8:36 am

Hi Jem they are pines, as of which species I'm unsure. I have done the exact same thing three years ago. I hope the mods don't mind but here is a link to another forum which has all the progression on it, plus lots of advice.

http://weetrees.co.uk/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=1633&hilit=+pine+seedlings
Sabi
Sabi

Back to top Go down

Post  leatherback Sat Mar 23, 2013 9:11 am

Hey,

That is a cool little thread. It does show the patience needed to get to bonsai from seed. Good to see yous tuck with it!

As for the here presented seedlings: I would seriously consider planting them out in the garden for 2 years or so to get to growth on them.
leatherback
leatherback

Back to top Go down

Complete beginner Empty Planting out

Post  JemC Sat Mar 23, 2013 9:37 am

Hi

Good morning and thanks for the replies..