Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Small green spores(?) on trees

4 posters

Go down

Small green spores(?) on trees Empty Small green spores(?) on trees

Post  Guest Mon Jul 02, 2012 5:48 pm

Hi there,

I'm relatively new to bonsai and have been given a half dozen trees of mixed varieties (and stages of "doneness") as a gift from a more experience bonsai-er. Anywho, they're away for a while and I've come up with a few questions that I don't seem to be able to find answers for with simple google searches or hunts of the forums.

First one I'll post here, the other is more of a care related question so I may post that elsewhere instead.

I recently noticed that a few of the trees (including an Eastern White Cedar - Thuja occidentalis, and some kind of juniper for which I'm unsure of the species, but it might be Juniperus chinensis) have a tiny green spore-ish like growth on some of the leaves. It's a tiny green pod on a long thin filament and it sticks straight off the leaf or branch bit it's growing on. I'll include some pictures, but mostly I'm trying to identify what the growth is and if it's harmful and any specific treatment instructions that might accompany it.

Small green spores(?) on trees 100_6415

Small green spores(?) on trees 100_6412

Thanks!
T Martin

Back to top Go down

Small green spores(?) on trees Empty Re: Small green spores(?) on trees

Post  coh Mon Jul 02, 2012 6:31 pm

Looks like they could be lacewing eggs...see google images of lacewing eggs If this is what it is, it's a good thing, as lacewing larva are predators.

Not sure if other insects deposit their eggs this way.

Side note...I saw one of the larva (you can google that as well) on one of my plants the other day, didn't know what it was but it looked like something that would eat other bugs. Now I know!
coh
coh

Back to top Go down

Post  JimLewis Mon Jul 02, 2012 6:57 pm