Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

learning. how?

+10
jjbacoomba
Rob Kempinski
John Quinn
DaveP
bonsaisr
JimLewis
fiona
Kev Bailey
Smithy
littlebobby
14 posters

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

Go down

learning. how? Empty learning. how?

Post  littlebobby Mon Jul 20, 2009 6:30 pm

self taught or trained? You've probably noticed from my dumb arse questions that I'm a novice, and I was wondering how you boffins became boffins?
littlebobby
littlebobby

Back to top Go down

learning. how? Empty Re: learning. how?

Post  Smithy Mon Jul 20, 2009 6:32 pm

By asking dumb arse questions Very Happy
Smithy
Smithy

Back to top Go down

Post  littlebobby Mon Jul 20, 2009 6:36 pm

Laughing Cool
littlebobby
littlebobby

Back to top Go down

Post  Kev Bailey Mon Jul 20, 2009 7:01 pm

I started aged 14, before there were any english language books readily available. Read a few very poor books from the library and got all the wrong advice. Gave up due to frustration of killing things all the time. I kept the four pots that I had bought from a garden centre after they killed their trees. Much later I took up the interest again as I got deeper into gardening and was then bought Dan Bartons book by my wife. Now I have a large library of books, have been a member of a bonsai club for 18 years, have visited Kokofuten in Japan, attended and exhibited at many shows like Fobbs, Best of British, Bukex, attended numerous workshops at Tony Tickles Burrs with a range of european teachers, other workshops and one to ones with Craig Coussins, Harry Tomlinson, Peter Warren.

I have even managed to arrange a week in Majorca when, by sheer coincidence (my wife thinks Wink), Angel Mota had a bonsai show with Kunio Kobayashi headlining.