Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Larch Bud Swelling Information

+4
coh
Norma
drgonzo
Fore
8 posters

Go down

Larch Bud Swelling Information Empty Larch Bud Swelling Information

Post  Fore Sat Feb 11, 2012 4:00 pm

A friend gave me a Larch last fall. I've no experience with Larches. At the time, I didn't pay attn to the size of the buds and I've since read you have to repot when the buds swell. (it's in 10 gal container of rich old soil that hardly never dries out). The tree is healthy. My question is does anyone have a pic of a swollen and un-swollen buds for me to look at? Or, maybe someone can give me the appx. sizes of both, like 1/4" and 1/8" respectfully? I just need a gauge to watch out for the time to get this out of this dirt and into Turface.

Thanks for any help! I tried googling pictures of Larch buds, but didn't find anything.
Chris
Fore
Fore

Back to top Go down

Larch Bud Swelling Information Empty Re: Larch Bud Swelling Information

Post  drgonzo Sat Feb 11, 2012 4:37 pm

"Most" of the advice I've read is that Larches should be re-potted before buds begin to swell, with the exception of Tamarack (American Larch) which some feel is best done as buds just break. To that end I just re-potted my L. Kaempferi yesterday. I have a very stable dormant storage area so I can get away with things a bit early. I have alot of trees though and I try to knock back as much as possible as early as possible.

is there any way we can se a pic. If its in a 10 gal container I'm wondering how big it is.
-Jay
drgonzo
drgonzo

Back to top Go down

Post  Norma Sat Feb 11, 2012 4:54 pm

Hi Chris,