Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

help with privet

+5
P.Spellman
coh
JimLewis
fiona
adam1234
9 posters

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

Go down

help with privet Empty help with privet

Post  adam1234 Sat Dec 10, 2011 5:33 pm

Hello,
This is my first post. I am a beginner in bonsai and have experimented making bonsai for two years now. I have made alot of mistakes and probably the one I am asking for help with. Two years ago when I read about bonsai on the internet I started the hobby with a number of privet trees. I dug up a number of privet trees that were part of a hedge and were going to be replaced by some other trees in a school. Had I not dug them up they were going to be uprooted and put in a skip. One of the trees had one long tap roots and very few small roots but had an extremely large trunk (about 17cm in diameter). I put the stump in cat litter (This was when I read the bonsai4me website), watered, and fed it for a year. In spring I examined the roots and there were lots and lots of new feeder roots. I was delighted but I saw alot of rot in the centre of the tree. I then removed the soft decaying part and was left with a hollow trunk. I had to cut the trunk during collecting because the top part of the tree had been cemented to the wall and I could not get that part out so I cut slanted angle with a saw. Anyway, this year lots of buds formed and new branches have started to form.
I am seeking advice from anyone who can help me with where to go next. I will take any help with how to style. My problem is that I cannot see how this tree will be in the future and would appreciate any directions. I have put some pictures of it.
Thank you.
help with privet Sdc17010
help with privet Sdc17011
help with privet Sdc17110
help with privet Sdc17012
help with privet Sdc17111

adam1234

Back to top Go down

help with privet Empty Re: help with privet

Post  fiona Sat Dec 10, 2011 6:21 pm