Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

First time Bonsai owner. Some help identifying it?

3 posters

Go down

First time Bonsai owner. Some help identifying it? Empty First time Bonsai owner. Some help identifying it?

Post  Oakhill Tue Mar 27, 2012 1:48 pm

Hi guys.
So i acquired my first bonsai almost a week ago. The label tells me it's a Zelkova but for all i know it might as well be a chinese elm.
Since im new to this i've been reading up a whole lot about how to care for my new friend, but i would love some tips and guidance on how to keep it happy and healthy:)

-It's a bit messy but i don't want to prune it too much this early, but i did removed some of the really rebellious branches.
-Fertilizer is ordered online and i believe it might arrive tomorrow or the following day. this is also a reason that i don't want to prune it all that much yet.
-I have had some trouble finding a local store that sell suiting pots, so i think i might have to find one online. recomendations on size and depth would be very much appreciated:)

First time Bonsai owner. Some help identifying it? Imag0110

Front of leaf
First time Bonsai owner. Some help identifying it? Imag0113

Back of leaf
First time Bonsai owner. Some help identifying it? Imag0112

Some scars i believe is from wiring
First time Bonsai owner. Some help identifying it? Imag0114

Here are some moss i acquired from a cactus growing in mud, hopefully it will grow and become a "grassy" field
First time Bonsai owner. Some help identifying it? Imag0115

I would really appreciate some thoughts on how to shape and prune it, and maybe someone knows wheter it's a Chinese Elm or a Zelkova.
Many thanks in advance:)

Oakhill

Back to top Go down

First time Bonsai owner. Some help identifying it? Empty Re: First time Bonsai owner. Some help identifying it?

Post  Bob Pressler Tue Mar 27, 2012 2:31 pm