Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Pinus Pumila as a Bonsai

2 posters

Go down

Pinus Pumila as a Bonsai Empty Pinus Pumila as a Bonsai

Post  Orion Wed Feb 01, 2012 12:37 am

I've never worked on a pine before, so I made a New Year's resolution to do just that. There are several nurseries that sell JBPs, Ponderosas and the like, but I'm looking for something different.

I've only seen pumila pines, aka Siberian dwarf pines, in older pictures from Japan and I'm intrigued by their characteristics: five needled, more horizontal growth than vertical and extreme hardiness. From what I understand they are similar to a mugo, but I'm not sure of the pluses or minuses when compared to each other.

Anyone out there have experience with this species regarding growth expectations, trainability as a bonsai, etc.???

Any info. would be really appreciated.

With thanks,

John
Orion
Orion

Back to top Go down

Pinus Pumila as a Bonsai Empty Re: Pinus Pumila as a Bonsai

Post  Fuku-lvb Wed Feb 01, 2012 8:49 am

Dear John,

i'm trying to grow some Pinus Pumila in my place (i live in the Alps). Because it's difficult to find not grafted materials in France, i've bought some seeds and i'm growing them for 2-3 years now. In my place, it is very slow growing, and a little weak. I have the feeling that it doesn't like the wet and cool winter we can have sometimes in western Europe.

It's important to provide a very draining soil. I suppose it's very similar to grow as japanese white pine, as they live in similar conditions in their natural environment and are very closely related trees (i guess that there is an hybrid between p. pumila and jwp in the nature in the northern part of Japan).
The needles are beautiful, same color as pinus cembra, but smaller and thinner. You probably won't have to shelter them during the winter, even if you live in a cold climate.