Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Styling yamadori [b]before [/b]collecting

Go down

Styling yamadori [b]before [/b]collecting Empty Styling yamadori [b]before [/b]collecting

Post  Damienindesert Thu May 12, 2011 4:43 am

Hi all

I'd like a few opinions or experiences if possible.

Is there any merit in doing preliminary modification on wild trees while they are still in the ground?
I don't have much of a sample base from which to draw an accurate conclusion, but I've been working on a few Tamarix specimens in the desert near my house. Basically there is a brackish water seepage area amongst the dunes that can clearly be seen by the massive stands of smallish Tamarix. Unfortunately there is also a waste-water dump in the same location so it can become something of a health hazard. silent
Upon removing a few smaller trees to experiment on, I studied what roots remained after extraction. Long anchor roots that dissapear deep into the sand and a loose clump of fine adventitious roots are usually present near the base of the tree. Transplanting to a pot usually involves 100% die-off of the foliage, and a few weeks later it starts budding well and is ready to go. Unfortunately some of the more strategic branches sometimes die off too.