Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Camellia problem

5 posters

Go down

Camellia problem Empty Camellia problem

Post  coh Mon Jan 31, 2011 5:05 pm

Hello all...this is one of my first posts. I've been a member for a few months and have learned quite a bit. I'm a beginner at bonsai, though I've been growing plants all my life. Had an extensive orchid collection at one time. Currently living in western NY.

I have a problem with a camellia sasanqua 'yuletide'. Maybe someone can offer some recommendations.

This was a plant that was worked on as part of the beginning bonsai class at the International Bonsai Arboretum in the fall (October). Started as nursery stock in a 1-gal pot. We worked it extensively - top and root pruning, wiring, finally potting into a bonsai pot. Wrong time of year, certainly, but that's when the class was held. We were advised to keep the plants indoors for the first winter to recover from all the abuse. Honestly, with the amount of root removed, I didn't expect it to survive. But it did...there were even a few flower buds left and they bloomed in late November.

Lately, the plant is looking worse...older leaves are (very) slowly yellowing and dropping. Younger leaves have developed an ugly mottled appearance. Both can be seen in the photos. Unfortunately, I don't have a photo of the plant when I first got it, but I don't remember the leaves looking like this.