Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

chinese elm

4 posters

Go down

chinese elm Empty chinese elm

Post  jason Thu Dec 09, 2010 9:02 pm

HI Everyone,im new to bonsai and have just aquired a 5yr old chinese elm,whilst i have done a lot of research on this type of tree i am still a bit dubious about undertaking some basic maintenence ie pruning/wiring and general care,due to a lot of conflicting opinions, not that this was unexpected or that i believe any of them were wrong as such,but i dont want to just do the first thing i hear and get it all wrong,I live in enland so its very cold at the moment so the tree is indoors and if possible will be from now on.as for the watering i think ive got that covered but as for the rest im slightly unsure. At the minute i cant upload any photos (Sorry if this doesnt help).But any help would be greatly appreciated.Thanks

jason

Back to top Go down

chinese elm Empty Re: chinese elm

Post  Kev Bailey Thu Dec 09, 2010 9:10 pm

Welcome once more to the IBC Jason.

Odd as it may seem, watering is probably the most difficult thing to get right at first. Only water when the compost is drying out. You can test this by inserting a bamboo chopstick or ice lolly stick down in the side of the pot. Only water when it comes out nearly dry to the touch. Overwatering kills trees almost as often as underwatering.

Keep it indoors for now but these Elms prefer to be out once the frosts have passed, in late spring.

For now read, read and read more.
Kev Bailey
Kev Bailey
Admin

Back to top Go down

chinese elm Empty chines elm

Post  jason Thu Dec 09, 2010 9:24 pm

Ok I willkeep an eye on it,also because its indoors at the minute and not going through its dormant phase should i still give it the same amount of fertaliser as you would in the summer or should this be cut down accordingley?

jason

Back to top Go down

Post  Kev Bailey Thu Dec 09, 2010 11:01 pm