Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Camellia hiemalis

+2
Pavel Slovák
Russell Coker
6 posters

Go down

Camellia hiemalis Empty Camellia hiemalis

Post  Russell Coker Sat Dec 04, 2010 8:48 pm

Here's a camellia (C. hiemalis) I've been working on for a few years now. I bought it as a 3 gallon nursery plant in 1983. In Japan I learned its name as "beni kan tsubaki", but you'll usually see it as 'shishi gashira'. Sometimes it is sold as a sasanqua. After it finishes blooming it really needs a good trimming and wiring, it's been a while!

I talked Jim Barrett into making this pot for me in 1986. It was (is?) the largest porcelain pot he'd ever made, and has a pale blue-green crackle glaze.

Sorry the picture's so bad.

Camellia hiemalis Camell10

flowers -

Camellia hiemalis Camell11

Russell

Last edited by Russell Coker on Sat Dec 04, 2010 9:15 pm; edited 1 time in total
Russell Coker
Russell Coker

Back to top Go down

Camellia hiemalis Empty Re: Camellia hiemalis

Post  Pavel Slovák Sat Dec 04, 2010 9:09 pm

Hi Russell, very nice tree. Very Happy ThumbsUp The photo is today?

Pavel
Pavel Slovák
Pavel Slovák

Back to top Go down

Post  Russell Coker Sat Dec 04, 2010 9:14 pm

Thanks Pavel, that's especially nice coming from you!

Yes, the pictures were taken today. It's 70 degrees outside, back in my short pants and t-shirt. We've had a couple of light frosts, but that's about it - until next week! My maples are still green, only my ginkgo has ugly color this autumn so far.

R
Russell Coker
Russell Coker

Back to top Go down

Post  Pavel Slovák Sat Dec 04, 2010 10:12 pm

Hi Russell

That's amazing. Very Happy

Right now I have a window 40 cm of snow and -21 ° C .
Very Happy Very Happy

Pavel
Pavel Slovák
Pavel Slovák

Back to top Go down

Post  Neil Jaeger Sun Dec 05, 2010 2:26 am