Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Royal Welsh Show

+5
Smithy
Ian Young
Todd Ellis
Ka Pabling
chris
9 posters

Go down

Royal Welsh Show Empty Royal Welsh Show

Post  chris Sat Jul 24, 2010 2:21 pm

The 19th, 20th, 21st and 22ed of July was the week for the Royal Welsh Show this year, this is the largest agricultural show of its kind in Europe. I have been building show gardens at this event for 8 years now and this year I was given 30 feet in the professional area of the horticultural marquee to dedicate to Bonsai.
Royal Welsh Show Dsc04730
Although I loved building show gardens it has always been my aim to display Bonsai at this show, and in the way that I want. The " accepted way" would be to put as many trees on the tables that would fit with little or no accents etc, you know what I mean we have all seen it, and this unfortunately is reflected in the way a lot of club and societies show. Thankfully this is starting to change.
The 30 foot was split into 5 alcoves consisting of 4 trees and 1 suiseki, I knew this would be way out of the judges comfort zone and so I was prepared for any decision that they felt they had to deliver. As it was they gave the display a gold medal (One off the best that being a large gold), so I was pleasantly surprised . I talked to the judges afterwards and it was obvious that they did not understand a 3 point display and the suiseki was lost completely on them!
Royal Welsh Show Dsc04731
The Scots Pine has been in my possession for about 4 years now and stands 4 foot high its a very powerful tree and with the help of Hans and Terry at a Burrs workshop a few years ago it is well on its way to reaching a great image. The accent is mushrooms and grass in a great little pot purchased at Noelanders last year.
Royal Welsh Show Dsc04732
The scroll is Japanese, what is known as a Red Mt Fuji, this felt right for this show as I think the red lifts the image