Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Types of Clay for Bonsai Pots

+5
rmartin345
biglou13
prestontolbert
Byron Myrick
tuscanpistoia
9 posters

Go down

Types of Clay for Bonsai Pots Empty Types of Clay for Bonsai Pots

Post  tuscanpistoia Wed Jun 30, 2010 10:15 am

Hi Everyone

I'm new here, first I'd like to say how amazed I am by some of the pots that others have posted on this forum; they are magnificent.

Now, onto my questions. I wish to have ago at making some bonsai pots; I've been practicing bonsai for a few years, and I've decided its time to try some pots. My Grandmother teaches pottery, and has done for many years, but both her and I are at a bit of a loss as to what type of clay would be best for making bonsai pots with. I live in Australia, and realize that the exact types of clay many of you use may not be available, but can you give me some pointers as to the types of clay that are suitable? some general discriptions, as well as some ideas as to mesh size, and other technical information would be most helpful.

In case it is relevent I would be focusing on shohin sized pots and smaller.

Any help you can offer would be most appreciated

tuscanpistoia

Back to top Go down

Types of Clay for Bonsai Pots Empty Clay

Post  Byron Myrick Wed Jun 30, 2010 1:18 pm

tuscanpistoia,
The one thing that you need to look for first in a clay is one that will vitrify when fired at the temperature you are capable of reaching in your kiln. If the clay absorbs moisture then freezes, the pot will break. Color and texture are important as to the esthetics of the pot, but are things that can be altered in one way or another as you grow in you craft.

Byron Myrick

Back to top Go down

Types of Clay for Bonsai Pots Empty Re: Types of Clay for Bonsai Pots

Post  prestontolbert Mon Jul 05, 2010 6:23 am

Tuscan-