Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Developing material

4 posters

Go down

Developing material Empty Developing material

Post  Jay Gaydosh Thu Jan 07, 2010 11:11 pm

Happy 2010, I'm just back from a 2 week visit with PNEUMONIA and trying to catch up on the forum.

As bonsai goes, I'm an absolute newb when it comes to yamadori. In fact, up till now I have concentrated on yamastori, and I believe I am getting better at choosing good nursery stock. While I'm having fun with what I currently have, I am looking to move further into the art.

I have some resources (although the nearest mountain is a two day drive) I have many field hedge rows of osage and other similar types of trees, a few thorny species, some grape vines, etc., available for the developing. I have recently acquired the 2009 edition of the "Trees of Illinois" and I'm trying to figure out how best to grow my forest of native trees for my area and what species fit best with art of bonsai.

IF, I was to begin isolating prospective specimens what can I best do to encourage development to the end result of plucking one from Mother Nature.

I understand the concept of root pruning to develop feeder roots while still in place, but I'm unsure about how far out to go and when best to do it. And, I understand that I can work with trees of various girths to match the size of the prospective trunk and bonsai.

Where I'm most curious, is at what point do we begin cutting back tops, branches and trunks to develop taper and shorten the specimen,. Do we do this for years as we develop the tree for its final resting place or do we wack it off just before harvfesting and work with it under more controlled conditions? I figure it can all be done somewhere between one extreme and the other.

(Yeah, I know, it is a great time of year to READ! But it is also a great time of the year to WRITE!)