Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Help needed with feed.

4 posters

Go down

Help needed with feed. Empty Help needed with feed.

Post  acer_monkey Mon Mar 13, 2017 2:44 pm

Hello,

I am a total newbie when it comes to Bonsai growing, I bought my first bonsai (acer) at the flower market in Amsterdam at Christmas. I planted it as soon as I got home and now it’s an impressive inch tall and looking healthy.

Now, my first question is about fertiliser. I’ve done a lot of reading about how I need a high Nitrogen feed in spring, a balanced feed in summer and a low Nitrogen feed in autumn. I understand the reasons why for this but all it does is confuse me further and never can I find an answer to the simple question, which feed should I buy?

So, I'm going to turn that question over to you guys. Which feeds do you recommend for my acer?

Thanks

acer_monkey

Back to top Go down

Help needed with feed. Empty Re: Help needed with feed.

Post  AlainK Mon Mar 13, 2017 6:27 pm

acer_monkey wrote:Hello,

(...)
So, I'm going to turn that question over to you guys. Which feeds do you recommend for my acer?

Thanks

It depends Very Happy

You wrote:

"...now it’s an impressive inch tall" Wow. 2.54 cm? What about its girth?

That's not, er, very big for an Acer (maple), even for a "mame".

Hard to give you some advice without seeing pictures...
AlainK
AlainK

Back to top Go down

Post  breck Mon Mar 13, 2017 8:40 pm