Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Horticulturist (Me) needs strange plant identifcation

+2
David Brunner
Gary Swiech
6 posters

Go down

Horticulturist (Me) needs strange plant identifcation Empty Horticulturist (Me) needs strange plant identifcation

Post  Gary Swiech Thu Nov 03, 2016 8:39 pm

A Horticulturist by trade and Bonsai enthusiast since 1975, I have never seen this plant before and hope someone can identify it.

• Leaves, simple, 3 lobed

• Stem, tomentose (hairy),

• Branching, alternate Horticulturist (Me) needs strange plant identifcation Img_1010
Horticulturist (Me) needs strange plant identifcation Img_0910
Horticulturist (Me) needs strange plant identifcation Img_1011
Horticulturist (Me) needs strange plant identifcation Img_1012
Gary Swiech
Gary Swiech

Back to top Go down

Horticulturist (Me) needs strange plant identifcation Empty Re: Horticulturist (Me) needs strange plant identifcation

Post  David Brunner Mon Nov 07, 2016 8:50 pm

Hello Gary - have you looked into Rubus?  Rubus odoratus and Rubus parviflorus both have simple alternate leaves on pubescent stems.  They generally have five-lobed leaves instead of three-lobed, but I do see a couple of the leaves on your plant which are five-lobed or nearly so.  Of course this would be much easier if you had flowers.  

David B.

David Brunner

Back to top Go down

Horticulturist (Me) needs strange plant identifcation Empty Re: Horticulturist (Me) needs strange plant identifcation

Post  M. Frary Wed Nov 09, 2016 8:41 pm

Raspberry.

M. Frary

Back to top Go down

Post  Gary Swiech Wed Nov 09, 2016 9:22 pm

Thanks guys but I have Rubus odoratus and Rubus parviflorus growing in the back of my yard. The leaves are not as hairy on this plant.