Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Cotoneaster bonsai & bare-rooting

4 posters

Go down

Cotoneaster bonsai & bare-rooting Empty Cotoneaster bonsai & bare-rooting

Post  BonsaiEejit Wed Jul 13, 2016 11:59 am

Hi all

I have got myself a few Cotoneaster tree cuttings. They are many years from being developed, etc but I have found another specimen at the local nursery which I might well purchase and play with.

My question is about re-potting. A bit of research has told me that the tree should never be bare-rooted when re-potting. Admittedly, I am a newbie and when I re-pot, I tend to clear out all the soil from the roots, give them a good wash and trim as required. Until now, this has been giving me good results as the trees tend to recover well and have bloomed in most instances. However, I'm not entirely sure how one goes about root pruning / re-potting without bare-rooting the tree.

Any GOOD advice is welcome...

BonsaiEejit

Back to top Go down

Cotoneaster bonsai & bare-rooting Empty Re: Cotoneaster bonsai & bare-rooting

Post  leatherback Wed Jul 13, 2016 1:19 pm

Odd. I have had no problems bare-rooting YOUNG cotoneasters. I bought a pot full of them (Yes, after bare rooting there were 7 in the pot) and I planted them individually. This was bare-rooting to the max. Planted in the growing beds and were pushing leaves within a week again. Eventually killed 6 of them in an early spring transplant, removing 80% of the roots and forgot to water them in a dry spell 2 weeks later. But the bare rooting itself.. tyhey never hesitated.

Maybe it is species specific?

Jelle.
leatherback
leatherback

Back to top Go down

Post  BonsaiEejit Wed Jul 13, 2016 1:33 pm

Thanks for the reply Leatherback. It could well simply be broad-spectrum instructions that apply to all species of Cotoneasters.