Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Tree Identification

4 posters

Go down

Tree Identification Empty Tree Identification

Post  t0fudelivery Wed Mar 30, 2016 8:40 pm

Aloha Everyone,

This is actually my first post!  Very excited to be a part of this forum.  I'm fairly new to the art of bonsai with a few trees in my collection for now.  I have attached some photos of a recently acquired bonsai that was given to me from a friend.  A few things to note:

• I live in Maui

• Tree was from a local bonsai garden/nursery in Haiku, Maui where there is ALOT of annual rainfall

Tree Identification Img_2211
Tree Identification Img_2212
Tree Identification Img_2210

t0fudelivery

Back to top Go down

Tree Identification Empty Re: Tree Identification

Post  LanceMac10 Wed Mar 30, 2016 11:44 pm

Welcome aboard. I live in NH. I AM OF NO HELP TO YOU. Just thought I would welcome you. Bagpiper
LanceMac10
LanceMac10

Back to top Go down

Post  Richard S Thu Mar 31, 2016 1:06 am

Welcome to the forum.

It looks like a Serrissa to me but don't take my word for it. I know nothing about tropical plants!

Sorry.

Regards

Richard
Richard S
Richard S

Back to top Go down

Post  t0fudelivery Thu Mar 31, 2016 10:13 pm

After doing a ton of research online, my guess is it's a Kingsville Boxwood. Can anyone confirm?

t0fudelivery

Back to top Go down

Tree Identification Empty Re: tree Identification

Post  geo Fri Apr 01, 2016 12:27 am

Yes,welcome to the forum.This is no Boxwood that I am aware of.Definately not Kingsville Box.I know that most species of Box are tropical but,even so,the leaf looks more Azelia than Box.Not guessing that,though.

Kingsville leaves:   http://d17vsf20mehj1i.cloudfront.net/42496_20120414T184904_0_jpg_171x171_crop-0,0_upscale_q85.jpg