Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

DIY Cold Closet Project

+6
JudyB
Khaimraj Seepersad
Kevin S - Wisco Bonsai
appalachianOwl
tmmason10
KyleT
10 posters

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

Go down

DIY Cold Closet Project Empty DIY Cold Closet Project

Post  KyleT Thu Dec 18, 2014 4:33 pm

I've been training some sub-tropicals for a few years, but this summer I took the Bonsai Plunge and collected about 15 deciduous and conifer trees. In November I built a cold closet to over-winter the trees, and I thought I would share my project. Since this is my first over-wintering effort, I would love any feedback and suggestions.

I live in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, which gets pretty cold, and I don't have a garage or a yard. Fortunately, I do have a basement, so I built my cold closet there. My basement has a concrete floor and concrete block walls. It has glass block windows with vents.

DIY Cold Closet Project Img_0912

The temperature in my basement gets down to about 48F in January, which is not enough to keep trees dormant, so the challenge is to get it down to 33F. To do this, I built the closet up against the wall of the basement, around one of the windows. With the window's vent closed, the temperature in the closet goes up to about 48F, like the rest of the basement. By opening the vent to varying degrees, I can get the temperature as low as 30F.

I made the closet out of five 4ft x 8ft sheets of 3/4 inch thick rigid foam insulation. Here's a photo of a typical fabrication detail.

DIY Cold Closet Project Img_0913

The key to making the whole thing out of rigid foam is the connections. I made a bunch of foam brackets, then screwed them to the wall and ceiling panels of the closet with drywall screws.

DIY Cold Closet Project Img_0914