Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Suitable Materials for Bonsai in the Far North

+4
EpicusMaximus
JimLewis
PeacefulAres
bryanscott
8 posters

Go down

Suitable Materials for Bonsai in the Far North Empty Suitable Materials for Bonsai in the Far North

Post  bryanscott Wed Apr 24, 2013 9:42 pm

H folks. I'm relatively new to bonsai. Starting playing around last spring, and now I'm hooked. The problem, though, is that I live in Winnipeg, Manitoba, which is probably most famous for its brutally cold winters. A typical nighttime low in the dead of winter is -13'F, and it's not uncommon to reach -40'F. This winter was particularly dreadful. It came early, it was cold, and the snow was never-ending; it even snowed a bit today. Spring is on the way, though, with highs in the mid-60s expected next week. Once summer is here, it's great. Quite common to reach highs of 95 in July and August.

Anyways, my point is this: I'm looking for suggestions for bonsai material that can live indoors year-round. I'm growing plenty of tropicals right now (a few varieties of ficus, schefflera, jades, and hedera hedera ivy) but am looking for other options. I have lots of nice southern-exposure light, and plenty of room outdoors during the summer months.

I should note that I tried wintering a couple of junipers in an unheated garage, but failed miserably. I might try again, but I'd really much rather have more indoor-friendly plants that I can look at year-round.

My research online has lead me to these suggestions: Chinese Elm, Indian Azalea, Tammarindus Tree, Bougainvillea, Ligustrum, Cottoneaster and Brazillian Raintree. Some of these might require a certain degree of wintering—that is, winter temperatures that are cool, but not freezing. I have no space in my house that fits this description, so I need to avoid trees that require that.

Thanks for reading!
Bryan

bryanscott

Back to top Go down