Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

5 year progression of a Yew from Home Depot

+6
MrFancyPlants
Richard S
appalachianOwl
Patrick_G
hiram
Rob C
10 posters

Go down

5 year progression of a Yew from Home Depot Empty 5 year progression of a Yew from Home Depot

Post  Rob C Mon Mar 25, 2013 1:21 am

Hello all..I have been training it for about 5 years. It was originally purchased from Home Depot. Here are the progression pics. I basically grew an entire new tree from just buds and branchlets. In the pics at the end, the tree is not as full as it looks. However, I am keeping a moderate amount of foliage. The branches are fairly young and I want them to gain strength.
Rob
The tree as purchased
 5 year progression of a Yew from Home Depot IMG_3782

The tree was cut back by about 75%
 5 year progression of a Yew from Home Depot IMG_3823

I didn't like the branch on the right, so I cut it off. Also, the tree was planted in a grow pot.
 5 year progression of a Yew from Home Depot Yew2

A little over a year later, the tree reverted back to a bush.
 5 year progression of a Yew from Home Depot Yew3

The tree was cut back hard again.
 5 year progression of a Yew from Home Depot Yew6

After a couple of years in the grow pot, the tree was put in it's first bonsai pot.
 5 year progression of a Yew from Home Depot Yew6-1_zpsde5b3889

This is the tree recently out of winter storage this year.
 5 year progression of a Yew from Home Depot Y1_zps94f5ea29

Here is the current look of the tree after 4-5 hours of pruning and wiring. Still a ways to go. However, the tree is proving to be a nice shohin.
 5 year progression of a Yew from Home Depot Y2_zps610587ef
 5 year progression of a Yew from Home Depot Y3_zps55800028

Rob C

Back to top Go down

5 year progression of a Yew from Home Depot Empty Re: 5 year progression of a Yew from Home Depot

Post  hiram Mon Mar 25, 2013 1:32 am