Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Bald Cypress

5 posters

Go down

Bald Cypress Empty Bald Cypress

Post  bonsaikat Wed Oct 31, 2012 9:25 pm

I'm new to Bonsai and I bought three small bald cypress. I repotted them in a pot together. I want them to get bigger. Should I put each in a bigger pot? And do the bald cypress do better in excess water?
bonsaikat
bonsaikat

Back to top Go down

Bald Cypress Empty Re: Bald Cypress

Post  GašperG Wed Oct 31, 2012 10:25 pm

Generally you should prepare the roots of each tree separately (to give them space) but if the training pot is big enough and trees are well apart, that 's ok. - that way you will get them bigger and fatter.
I know they are thirsty and do like to stand in water but that is only what i have read on this forum...they are not my natural habitat...
There will be more advice from members that know how to work with bald cypresses.
GašperG
GašperG

Back to top Go down

Post  Zach Smith Thu Nov 01, 2012 10:19 am

They will stay small in pots, no matter how big the pots. Plant in the ground, wait several years and you should have the trunk size you need to start a bonsai (we're talking a minimum of three inches trunk diameter). They like plenty of sun and water, so keep them well watered (and fed). If you have a continually wet spot you can plant there, they don't mind having their feet wet.

Good luck!

Zach

Zach Smith

Back to top Go down

Post  nickalpin Tue Nov 06, 2012 9:04 pm

Be careful which time of year you repot/do root work. Here in FL we repot in February, our 'winter'. I've killed a few bald cypress repotting during the wrong time of year. Depending on your zone, stick them in the ground and watch them take off. Or, get the biggest nursery pots you can handle and stick them in separate pots.

nickalpin

Back to top Go down

Post  bucknbonsai Wed Nov 07, 2012 12:43 am