Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

New Kiyohime Maple Styling - Help Needed

4 posters

Go down

New Kiyohime Maple Styling - Help Needed Empty New Kiyohime Maple Styling - Help Needed

Post  AboveBeyond Fri Aug 24, 2012 11:55 pm

I just picked up a Kiyohime a couple days ago and need helping with styling it. I was thinking of a simple informal upright broom with two main branches. I'll probably need to wire the low branch down a bit and also the second branch. The upper trunk leans back a little, do I need to straighten it?

My other question is what is causing the flaking of the bark at the trunk? Is this due the graft and would that ever heal/go away?

New Kiyohime Maple Styling - Help Needed Kiyohi10
New Kiyohime Maple Styling - Help Needed Kiyohi11
New Kiyohime Maple Styling - Help Needed Kiyohi12

I am new to bonsai and to Japanese Maples so any help would be appreciated, thank you!

New Kiyohime Maple Styling - Help Needed Kiyohi12

New Kiyohime Maple Styling - Help Needed Kiyohi11

New Kiyohime Maple Styling - Help Needed Kiyohi14

AboveBeyond

Back to top Go down

New Kiyohime Maple Styling - Help Needed Empty Re: New Kiyohime Maple Styling - Help Needed

Post  drgonzo Sat Aug 25, 2012 12:37 am

Hi

I would think it's too late to style now in Boston as the tree will be entering senescence within a few months, so you'll have plenty of time to examine the bare branch structure over winter and think about what you might like to do. Some folks enjoy wiring their Japanese Maples in fall, this requires good protection over winter as the tree will not heal branches until spring. I believe Marcus told me Kiyo resents having freezing cold wire on it overwinter...so maybe wait till late spring for wiring.