Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Deadwood carving help please.

+4
Treedwarfer
JimLewis
marcus watts
Poink88
8 posters

Go down

Deadwood carving help please. Empty Deadwood carving help please.

Post  Poink88 Fri Aug 17, 2012 3:11 pm

I just surrendered and accepted that I am not a carving artist. Embarassed I have all the tools I need but I have no vision how to make a nice deadwood feature. (Will B., remember what I said, it is not the tools but the artist?). That said, I am still hoping it will come in time.

A month ago, I am on leave (for 2 weeks to baby sit my daughter) and have nothing to do (dangerous)... I chopped one of my larger collected cedar elm (from 2 main branches down to one). It looks better now IMHO but the chop is awful and I do not know how to proceed. Somehow, I can copy and critique, but not create. I played with it a bit and not sure if I made it worse by limiting my future options or not. The engineer in me stops my creative side to take the reigns on this...it is forcing the smaller chop footprint over irregular & artistic deadwood. GRRRR Evil or Very Mad I have an ugly heart shaped chop now that I know have to be changed drastically but have to stop before I make it worse until I get some guidance.

I watched tons of Graham Potter's video, looked at lots of deadwood pics online but still nothing!!! Crying or Very sad

I will post pics later but for now I am semi venting (frustrated of myself) and maybe/hopefully get some advise later.

EDIT: Here are some pics:
Front.
Deadwood carving help please. P1130316

Back.
Deadwood carving help please. P1130318

Current deadwood closeup.
Deadwood carving help please. P1130330

Thank you.

Last edited by Poink88 on Fri Aug 17, 2012 7:45 pm; edited 1 time in total
Poink88
Poink88

Back to top Go down

Deadwood carving help please. Empty Re: Deadwood carving help please.

Post  Poink88 Fri Aug 17, 2012 4:27 pm