Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Help with a pine

3 posters

Go down

Help with a pine Empty Help with a pine

Post  Nemotux Sun Jul 22, 2012 8:59 pm

Hi all,

Newbie here in Brooktondale, NY. I've experimented with bonsai in the past without much success. After giving it a rest for a couple years, I came into the possession of a cute little pine tree that wasn't doing so hot in a friend's garden and got evicted by said friend. So I'm thinking maybe I should give it a more dedicated go. And I'm looking for advice on how to care for it/style it/etc. Also, if anyone knows exactly what kind of pine this is (I count 5 needles), that'd be nice to know. I'm assuming it's some kind of dwarf variety. The friend has another one that is healthier and it's not much bigger.

So, here's the tree after I potted it and cut off all the dead branches:

Help with a pine Front211

The images are about a month or two after I got it, at which point it had pushed out some new needles.

The view from other sides:

Help with a pine Left_s10

Help with a pine Right_10

Help with a pine Back10

Here's the trunk. It has this little root sticking out the side:

Help with a pine Trunk10

And closeups of the foliage. It has these dense, chaotic pods of needles:

Help with a pine Closeu10

Help with a pine Closeu11

I'm assuming I should let it rest, grow stronger, and get used to the pot for the remainder of the year and only start doing anything more next spring. But then next spring start training it. But how? Seems maybe informal upright style? And work towards shortening the branches in back?

Thanks for any help!

Nemotux

Back to top Go down

Help with a pine Empty Re: Help with a pine

Post  Marty Weiser Sun Jul 22, 2012 11:49 pm