Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Which books

+3
JimLewis
Robert Steven
kellyronald6
7 posters

Go down

Which books Empty Which books

Post  kellyronald6 Fri Jan 20, 2012 2:39 pm

I am new to this very interesting hobby. I live in Texas zone 8. I want to read and learn as much as I can, so I am wondering what are the best books to own? Which have the best information on Growing, Pruning, Fertilizing, Watering and so forth? Where is the best place to aguire them? What is the best trees to learn with? Can I Buy said Trees, Soil, Pots, Tools online?

kellyronald6

Back to top Go down

Which books Empty Re: Which books

Post  Robert Steven Fri Jan 20, 2012 2:47 pm

Hi Kelly,

Go to visit www.stonelantern.com and you will find almost everything...
Good luck !
Robert Steven
Robert Steven

Back to top Go down

Post  JimLewis Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:51 pm

Stone Lantern is fine. Amazon is fine for books.

Plants are almost always better coming from somewhere near you, so you know they'll do well in your climate. San Antonio should have some nice nurseries from which you can select plants for a do-it-yourself bonsai. If you are looking to buy a "finished" bonsai, a good one will cost you a few hundred dollars, though you can buy S-curve imported Chinese junk for $25-$40.

As for books . . . Beginners will do well with one of Herb Gustafson's books -- probably "Bonsai Workshop."

If you can find the 1994 or 2003 editions of Sunset Magazine's "Bonsai" they are excellent. www.abebooks.com has them. Other editions aren't as good.

Probably the most comprehensive treatment is Deborah Koreshoff's "Bonsai its Art, Philosophy, History and Science." it too is out of print, I think, and is the most expensive of all that I've noted here.

I'd recommend that you join a bonsai club. There is one in San Antonio: