Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Is it a bonsai yet?

+2
Gentleman G.
creekfield
6 posters

Go down

Is it a bonsai yet? Empty Is it a bonsai yet?

Post  creekfield Mon Jan 31, 2011 2:53 am

I've purchased this escallonia from a local nursery.
Is it a bonsai yet? Escall10

After hard pruning.
Is it a bonsai yet? Pruned10

And now, what???

creekfield

Back to top Go down

Is it a bonsai yet? Empty Re: Is it a bonsai yet?

Post  Gentleman G. Mon Jan 31, 2011 3:07 am

I'm a newb, and I cant really see what's happening in the back... However, I think the right side has really nice movement. That being said, if it were mine, I'd chop off the left side and perhaps create some sort of hollow. I'm not familiar with the wood of this plant at all though, maybe one of the experts could shed some light on this. After that, I'd let that little bit of new growth become the new trunk and retain the jin to the right to make it look like a branch that died off some time ago. Then just let it grow for a couple years, select your branches and begin training and ramification. It also appears that there is a large branch coming out of the back too. If this is the case I'd probably take that off too, can't really tell from just the one picture though. But instead of just hacking off those other branches, I'd look into propagating them as cuttings or by air layer as they appear to have nice movement also. So, the answer to your question is no, it's not a bonsai yet but it has some nice potential from what I can see. But then again, I'm just a beginner who doesn't claim to know it all. Let's wait and see what the others think.

G
Gentleman G.
Gentleman G.

Back to top Go down

Post  Ravi Kiran Mon Jan 31, 2011 8:37 am

Two questions and two quick answers...

No it is not a Bonsai yet....