Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Overwintering on a balcony

+3
bonsaisr
Kev Bailey
MikeG
7 posters

Go down

Overwintering on a balcony Empty Overwintering on a balcony

Post  MikeG Sat Oct 16, 2010 1:27 pm

Hi all. I am new to the art of bonsai this growing season and have collected numerous specimens. I live on the 17th floor of an apartment building and dont really have the option of putting my trees in the ground, except for driving them an hour to my sisters farm. I'm in zone 5 and really need some advice on the best ways I can overwinter on my balcony. I'm not too worried about my hardier trees such as Scots pine and eastern larch but am worried about my Zelkova and my Japanese Maples in particular. I'm thinking that my smaller trees could safely be kept in a fridge for this season.
Any advice anyway? Anything will help.

Thank you, Mike
MikeG
MikeG

Back to top Go down

Overwintering on a balcony Empty Re: Overwintering on a balcony

Post  Kev Bailey Sat Oct 16, 2010 2:10 pm

I think your Zelkova (if it really is one, they are often mislabelled Ulmus parvifolia - Chinese Elm to get around import restrictions) and Japanese Maple should be fine. Just insulate the rootball with a few layers of bubble wrap or similar. Note that I'm in zone 9 though, so advice would be better from someone within your zone.
Kev Bailey
Kev Bailey
Admin

Back to top Go down

Overwintering on a balcony Empty Overwintering on a balcony

Post  bonsaisr Sat Oct 16, 2010 2:51 pm