Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Total beginner... advice on boxwood

+2
Twisted Trees
Clever
6 posters

Go down

Total beginner... advice on boxwood Empty Total beginner... advice on boxwood

Post  Clever Fri Mar 22, 2013 12:44 pm

Hello All,

I've always been a big bonsai admirer, and I have owned a couple trees some years back none of which I still have. While shopping at home depot I saw this boxwood and thought it might make a good specimen. I had a pot so I figured I would try my first 'nursery' conversion. Fueled by a bit of over-excitement, I trimmed it up and potted it before finding this awesome forum. After browsing around a bit I quickly learned some general approaches that I think I violated with my styling but you have to learn somewhere right? Could some seasoned vets give me some input and advice on the specimen and if its possible to guide it towards a respectable tree? Thanks in advance!

Total beginner... advice on boxwood Img_1610
Total beginner... advice on boxwood Img_1611
Clever
Clever

Back to top Go down

Total beginner... advice on boxwood Empty Re: Total beginner... advice on boxwood

Post  Twisted Trees Fri Mar 22, 2013 3:22 pm

How long ago did you pot it and has it shown signs of growth?
Twisted Trees
Twisted Trees

Back to top Go down

Total beginner... advice on boxwood Empty Re: Total beginner... advice on boxwood

Post  Clever Fri Mar 22, 2013 3:37 pm

I trimmed and potted it last weekend. There are new sprout clusters popping up since the trimming. I'm in South Florida and it has been getting consistent sun daily.
Clever
Clever

Back to top Go down

Post  Norma Fri Mar 22, 2013 7:29 pm

Hi ,