Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

over winter juniper in apt

4 posters

Go down

over winter juniper in apt Empty over winter juniper in apt

Post  sajison Sun Nov 18, 2012 10:15 pm

Hello, I am new to bonsai and this will be my first winter. I live in a condo so will not be able to put the tree to ground over the winter. I have had it on a west facing balcony since I got him and am not sure how to prepare him for the winter. I live in Michigan, think I'm in zone 8 tho not 100% sure. Any advice as to how I can protect it from the cold and wind?

Thanks in advance !!

sajison

Back to top Go down

over winter juniper in apt Empty Re: over winter juniper in apt

Post  JimLewis Sun Nov 18, 2012 10:38 pm

I looked you up. You're either in zone 5a or 6b. That's pretty cold. Still, I'd recommend overwintering your tree outside, if you can. Go to Home depot and buy one of those plastic cones gardeners put over their veggies to protect them from frost. That will still allow sunlight to get to your juniper, but should cut off the cold winter winds and help ameliorate the temperatures while at the same time allowing plenty of ventilation.

Junipers CAN be wintered inside for a year or two, but they need their dormant period. If you decide to bring it in, keep it outside until you have a night in the low teens. That should allow the tree to go dormant. When you bring it in, keep it near a window and, if possible, keep the window open slightly so the tree is cool. That may raise Hobb with your heater, though.
JimLewis
JimLewis

Back to top Go down

Post  sajison Mon Nov 19, 2012 12:05 am